Eye Candy: Weird Blobs and Nuggets

I’m always excited to try modern, unusual shapes for my lampwork beads. Sometimes that means I’m making abstract icicles for several weeks, or rectangular “bars” or nuggets that resemble faceted gemstones.

Currently I’m obsessed with a colorful series that I call “Beach Treasures”. In a nutshell these are weird blobs of dripping glass disks and nuggets that are free shaped and softly rounded. I etch them for a matte, soft surface so that they resemble sea glass, as you can find it sometimes on the beach.

Here are some examples of this new series.

Tutti Frutti

Tropical Sea

Phoenix

Berry

Harvest

I love the almost limitless options with this new design: These shapes look fabulous with nearly all colors, but especially with transparent jewel tones. Can’t wait for my next torch session to make some more weird blobs! Which colors will it be tonight?

4 comments

  1. Love them all, but especially “Harvest”.

  2. Jen

    Berry is stunning!

  3. Judith I love them, they glow so beautifully and the shapes compliment it!

    Greetings
    Astrid

Leave a Reply

