Pink Opal Focal Bead – second attempt :)

If you’re not only reading this blog, but are also one of my Facebook fans, then this bead will look strangely familar:


I made a very similar focal bead last week, but that bead had a tiny little imperfection. I think I touched it in the kiln with another hot bead, and there was a nearly invisible scratch in the encasing.

So I took the opportunity to give away that first bead to one lucky Facebook fan. Here you can see our dog Pasta drawing the name of the winner:


Congratulations again to Linda, who won the original focal bead. She wants to create a pendant and dangle 4mm Swarovski crystals from it and put it on a copper or silver chain. We’re all excited to see Linda’s creation!

Never one to keep rest until I’m happy, I sat down yesterday and did a retake on exactly the same bead. The result you can see above, and this time I took especially care not to have another kiln accident.

Because I love this design so much (adapted from the Fire Opal tutorial by Amber – Naos), I made also a set of matching lentils.

Both items are currently listed for auction at Ebay. Click here.

3 comments

  1. Judith, they are breathtaking beautiful.
    Happy holiday season

  2. Thanks Daniela.
    The same to you: Frohe Weihnachten!

  3. Way to go, Pasta! Beautiful pink bead!

Leave a Reply

