Inspiration strikes unexpected

Maybe you know through my FB updates that I’m currently preparing lots of items for the annual Christmas Market at our girl’s preschool. Normally I sell my lampwork beads just like that and rarely make jewelry anymore, but for this event I committed to prepare a table with finished items.

Mostly these will be in the lower price range: key chains, cellphone lariats, simple bracelets and big hole beads. Maybe also the occasional necklace and vintage key pendant. I had in my mind pretty much laid out, which designs and styles I want to offer.

But then I was catching up with blogs of fellow jewelry makers, lampworkers and crafters over on The Hive. It was this post by Christine & Co. and her beautiful work that got my creative juices flowing into an unexpected direction.

Charm Pendants! I’ve always been a sucker for charms and most of my bracelet designs are asymmetrical charm bracelets. I’m completely surprised that I never thought about making charm pendants!


So these are the four pendants that I made for the Christmas market with some of my orphan beads (click on pics for larger view). They’re pretty large and look best worn on a fairly long chain or lariat style.

I want to offer the buyers a mix & match option. They can either buy only the pendant, or mix it up and purchase the matching chains, silk ribbons or leather cords.


The black/red pendant is already strung on a chain for illustrative purposes. As with all of these pendants, the focal bead is pretty substantial – in this case a one inch spree lentil.

I’m not totally happy with this last pendant. I think it does look a bit too busy with too many different colors. What do you think – shall I get rid of the charm on the left with two lampwork beads, one lavender shimmer, one etched purple/silver ?

Any feedback is appreciated!

5 comments

  1. Ya, that would look nice. Maybe more the charm on the right, with the blue crystal, to the left. Just an idea. Very nice work, though!

    Someday I will buy some of your beads. They always take my breath away! Once I get the business and web page up and running; after the new year!

  2. Thanks for the suggestion Diane. I will give it a go tomorrow and change the charms a bit around. Good idea to move the one charm to the other side (mind you, if the pendant is worn it moves in any way a bit around and doesn't lay flat like this).

    Thanks for the nice words about my beads :). Do you sell on Etsy? It's a fast way to set up a shop without having to create a whole webpage.

  3. Carolyn M

    Lovely Judith!. I've been making and selling 'dangles' for years now and they are very popular – also great ways to use up my orphans!

  4. I did make some dangles with bracelets and even with pendants when I'm doing lampworked vintage skeleton keys. Always loved the look.
    LOL, I just never took it a step further (or back) and didn't realize that this would look great with orphan beads too.

  5. They are beautiful! I think it's a great idea for a show.

Leave a Reply

